fun, Lila

Obsession Confession | Come Back To Me Star Trek!

Hey y’all! What’s up?! It’s Lila! I know it’s been a while, but I needed to take a week or two of rest because I was just exhausted, physically and mentally. I’m still pretty tired, in all honesty, but I wanted to get back to blogging. Anyhoo. In the time during my break, I found plenty of new things to obsess over! So let’s check ’em out!

Books

I’ve been reading A Court of Wings And Ruin by Sarah J. Maas really, really slowly because I want to savor it, so, sadly, that means that I have no featured book this week. Sorry, y’all! 😭

Music

https://open.spotify.com/embed?uri=spotify:track:3NpsflsHTAoand4Jl3ruP7
I’ve really been digging “Back To Me” by Marian Hill and Lauren Juaregui of late. The simple beat and trilling melody had me shimmying my hips and singing a long the whole time. I love how viscous the song is, without it being slow. Y’all should for sure give this song a listen soon!

Movies/TV/Trailers

The trailer for Star Trek: Discovery was released and I’ve never been a Trekkie, but this? This looks so good! I especially love that the leads are women of color (and they’re a friendship pair made up of two different races)! It’s just so refreshing to see, especially for a show which is supposed to be set in the future, where things have (hopefully) progressed a bit! But representation aside, this show looks stellar (pun intended)! I’m all for sci fi action adventures, so I’ll definitely be watching this!

Other Stuff

My bestie taught me how to tie a turban and oh my god, it’ll be a real struggle not to wear one for the rest of my life! I’ve always admired turbans, but could never figure out how to tie one–but my bestie taught me the simple twist and tuck method. I love that turbans are an elegant, yet bohemian, simple way to hide your hair if it’s messy or if you don’t feel like dealing with it! I’ll be taking this style with me to the grave!

News

I couldn’t find any major bookish news this week, so instead of me telling you the news, I want y’all to tell me in the comments what recent bookish news you’r excited about!

Laughter

So this is happenning:

Remember that amazing movie Twitter came up with based on that picture of Rihanna and Lupita Nyong’o? The one in which Rihanna was a scammer and Lupita was her smart, scheming sidekick? Well now it’s actually gonna be real! Apparently the story is gonna be a Netflix movie starring Rihanna and Lupita, directed by Ava DuVernay, and written by Issa Rae!!! So there ya have it! Never underestimate the creative power of community on social media!

Leave a Reply

