Queens And Cultural Appropriation | The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King Review

Title: The Hundredth Queen Author: Emily R. King Format: Audiobook Narrator: Lauren Ezzo Running Time: 10 hours, 6 minutes Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone…

One Hell of a Ride! | Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat Vol. 1 and Vol. 2 by Kate Leth, Brittney Williams, Megan Wilson, Joe Sabino, and Clayton Cowles Combo Mini Review

Title: Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! Volume 1: Hooked On A Feline Author: Kate Leth Artists: Brittney Williams, Megan Wilson, Joe Sabino, and Clayton Cowles Publisher: Marvel Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: Patsy Walker has managed to escape her past, her enemies and Hell itself (literally) – but nothing compares to job hunting in New York City! Between trying to make…

Diabolically Delightful | Five Reasons To Read…The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Title: The Diabolic Author: S.J. Kincaid Narrator: Candace Thaxton Running Time: 12 hours, 30 minutes Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Goodreads Summary: Nemesis is a Diabolic. Created to protect a galactic Senator’s daughter, Sidonia. There’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the galactic court as a hostage, there…

Reasons To Read…The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Title: The Valiant Author: Lesley Livingston Narrator: Fiona Hardigham Publisher: Listening Library Running Time: 10 hours, 21 minutes Goodreads Summary: Princess. Captive. Gladiator. Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar. When Fallon was a child, Caesar’s armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was…

Melodic And Monstrous Musings | Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones Audiobook Review

Title: Wintersong Author: S. Jae-Jones Narrator: Eva Kaminsky Publisher: Recorded Books Running Time: 14 hours, 17 minutes Rating: Goodreads Synopsis: The Instant New York Times Bestseller! Bustle – 2017 YA Must Reads Paste Magazine – Most Anticipated YA Books of 2017 Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and The Beauty and the…

The Kinda Good Retelling I’ve Been Hunting For | Hunted by Meagan Spooner Audiobook Review

Title: Hunted Author: Meagan Spooner Narrator: Saskia Maarleveld, Will Damron Publisher: HarperAudio Running Time: 9 hours, 19 minutes Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐.5 Goodreads Summary: Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the…

Ever The Cliched | Ever The Hunted By Erin Summerill Audiobook Review

Title: Ever The Hunted Author: Erin Summerill Format: Audiobook Narrator: Helen Johns Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC Length: 11 hours, 27 minutes Star Rating: ★★ 0.5/ ☆☆☆☆☆ Goodreads Summary: Seventeen year-old Britta Flannery is at ease only in the woods with her dagger and bow. She spends her days tracking criminals alongside her father, the legendary bounty hunter for the King of Malam—that is,…

Maggie Reviews │ Rebecca

It’s no wonder Alfred Hitchcock adapted Rebecca for the silver screen. Daphne du Maurier’s gothic tale of horror follows the tumultuous relationship between Maxim de Winter and his second, much younger, wife, whom he meets while virtually escaping the memories he has of his home in England, Manderley. Maxim quickly marries his young bride and…

Maggie Reviews │ Saga, Volume 1

My first foray into the world of the graphic novel, Saga blew my mind – in an excellent way. I did have a sneaking suspicion that I’d enjoy Saga, as it was recommended to me by a bunch of avid readers and bloggers. Let me just say that this book very much exceeded my already…

Maggie Reviews │ Anna Dressed in Blood

I wanted to love Anna Dressed in Blood SO bad. Unfortunately, I believe I set my expectations for the book way too high. Judging from its title and creepy cover, I anticipated being scared to death while reading. There are some admittedly creepily gross parts, but there are few. Since I rarely read summaries prior…

Maggie Reviews │ Insanity

Well, I sure am glad I went into reading Cameron Jace’s Insanity, the first in the series of the same name, without reading the summary on Goodreads – had I read it, I wouldn’t have been so pleasantly surprised by the story’s plot. I’ve been curious about Insanity for a long time, but had held…